Book and Film Challenge Update


Here’s the latest on my books and film challenge. I am trying to read 50 books and see 25 films this year, remember. The books are not a problem. The films are more of an issue since I don’t see many films normally.

I have finished my third book, Ode to a Banker by Lindsey David, another Marcus Didius Falco mystery. It combines two occupations in the mystery, banking and publishing. A publisher who was also a banker has been murdered in his home and it is up to Falco to solve the murder. He is working this time with Helena’s brother Aelianus as his assistant. He is acting as a consultant to the vigiles who don’t have the man power available to work the case. Since Falco is himself an unpublished poet, the story brings Falco into the world of authors and publishers as well as bankers.

We also learn the status of Falco’s new house and the frustrating slowness of the contractors who are working on building the bath house. And Helena is pregnant with Falco’s second chil so there is a need for more room for living space. Nux has given birth to a large puppy which now belongs to Maia’s eldest Marius. And Maia and Anacrites have been seen together quite often. Jupiter! Three down, 47 books to go.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Books and Films Challenge Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

