New Year’s Day and traditional Fudge


What did you do on New Year’s Day?

New Year’s Day was a pretty low-keyed day for me. I read and watched TV. I also did my traditional New Year’s Day traditional thing: I made fudge. I know. That’s a strange tradition to do on New Year’s Day or for any day, for that matter but that’s what I do. If you’d like I;ll share my recipe because it’s so simple and yummy. It’s a great way to start the New Year and if you do it early in the morning, you will have fidge to enjoy later in the evening.

Maire’s Quick and Easy Fudge

In a large ceramic bowl, melt 3 cups of dark chocolate chips, one cup of mini marshmallows,and one can of sweetened condensed evaporated milk in the microwave for 4 mintes. Add 1/2 tsp vailla and 1/4 tsp salt. Stir well until all ingredients are completely blended. The mixture should be completely brown and glossy and smooth. Line a square pan with foil and dump mixture into pan. Spread evenly through the pan. Chill for for hours. Let come to room temperature. Then lift the fudge out of the pan by the foil and peel off the foil. Cut into squares. I cut 8 x 8 squares, so I guess that’s 64 pieces.Be sure to cut at room temperature or you will break a knife. Enjoy.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in New Year's Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Year’s Day and traditional Fudge

  1. judithhb says:

    Ooh what a lovely tradition. Off to buy the ingredients. 🙂

  2. The Hook says:

    Did I ever tell you I made fudge for a living for years? it was one of my teenage jobs that evolved into a position managing an out-of-town food truck operation. Your post took me back. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

