A_Z Challenge; C is for Two Cassandras


A to Z Challenge; C is for two Cassandras

I am very fortunate to have two Cassandras in my life. One is my granddaughter Cassandra and one is my adopted foster daughter Cassandra through Futres for Children.

My granddaughter Cassandra is the younger of my twin granddaughters by 7 minutes. She is the smaller of the the two, thinner and wiry, a but prickly. Actually she is sensitive and thoughtful, yet can be volatile and, as I said, prickly is the best word to describe her personality. She feels intensely and is not afraid to show her feelings. She is sweet and funny and cute. She likes what she likes and dilikes intensely what she doesn’t. She’s a picky eater but isn’t afraid to try new foods. She’s just picky about what she likes. She is very affectionate to me and I adore her. She’s a good student and on the school’s Pepe Team. Next year she’s been asked to be an officer on the Pep Team. She’s extremely dedicated in everything she does. I love her to bits.

My other Cassandra is a beautiful young woman. I met her 17 years ago when she was just 7 years old when I began mentoring her through Futures for Children, a mentoring organization for Native American Children. Cassandra is a member of the Jemez tribe in New Mexico and I am an honorary member of the tribe. She is extremely smart and a hard working student. She lives on her own and goes to school but is not far from the pueblo so she sees her family often. Her family is very important to her. And she has a large extended family. She sings in their family’s drum group and won Grammy Award for best Native American Artist. She will graduate soon from college and plans to go on to graduate school and work to put herself through school. She was named one of New Mexico’s Top Ten Young Women of the Year by New Mexico Magazine when she was a senior in high school (I nominated her). She participated in advanced math and science program at Philips Exeter Academy in Andover throughout her high school years. She is bright, witty, athletic, sweet, and caring. She has had some problem at home recently with her mom so she and I have grown closer in the past few months as I have acted more as “mom.” I am so lucky to have this lovely young woman in my life.

C is for the two Cassandras that grace my life.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A_Z Challenge; C is for Two Cassandras

  1. Tilly Bud says:

    A lovely post 🙂

Leave a Reply

