A-Z Challenge; F is for Father


A to Z Challenge; F is for Father

My father has been gone for 30 years now yet I miss him still every day. He was the kindest, most gentle man I have ever met in my life. He was a very special person in my life.

My father was the eldest of three sons of my grandparents. He was extremely close to his father. They both enjoyed hunting and fishing. When my father was in high school he wanted to be an architect, but he graduated in 1930, in the midst of the Great Depression so he apprenticed as a carpenter. His father was also a carpenter. He also loved to fly airplanes. He and his friends taught themselves to fly gliders and eventually my father became the principal of the local aviation school. Then came Worl War II and the school was school was closed and my father and the staff entered the Army Air Corps and taught others how to put damaged airplanes back together.

My father met my mother after the war. She was the best friend of the woman his brother married and they had a letter-writing courtship and married in 1948. A year later I came along. By this time my father was teaching building construction in the local high school. Two years later my brother came along and a year later my sister was born. He designed and built our house where we grew up complete with a swing set, a jungle gym, a fort, and a play house that he built for us. He taught my brother to hunt and fish and he built furniture for our house as well. He always stressed the value of education and though he was quiet and introverted, he did not hesitate to tell our teachers at school what he thought about our education if he thought something was not going right.

His family was all-important to him. We were close to his parents and his brothers and my cousins. My father did not raise his voice nor his hand to us, yet we behaved and loved him beyond belief. And we knew he loved us. And that’s what mattered. And that’s why I miss him still.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A-Z Challenge; F is for Father

  1. The Hook says:

    Fantastic post! I love these “looks behind the curtain”, as it were. Thanks for sharing.

  2. leah says:

    its a vey well structed pies

Leave a Reply

