Six Word Saturday


I have to go to training.

I have CASA training this morning and I don’t feel well at all. CASA, for those of you who don’t know, stand for Court-Appointed Special Advocate for children. We are assigned a case of abused and/or neglected children and are their advocate in the court system. The training today is about trauma and the child and most of these children have been through trauma in their short lives. My case has two children, an infant who has never lived with her parents (thank God) and an autistic 3 1/2 year old boy who is now safe with his grandmother. My case will close out next month after trial and final placement of the children, then I’ll have a new case. We have to go to 12 hours of training a year (this training today is 4 hours long) and we often have 1 hour trainings at lunch time. It is rewarding but often frustrating work, but well worth it in the end when the children are settled in the best homes for them.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Six Word Saturday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Six Word Saturday

  1. The Hook says:

    That sounds gut-wrenching. You’re a good person, my friend – in every sense of the word.

Leave a Reply

