A-Z Challenge; J is for Japanese Chins


A to Z Challenge; J is for Japanese Chins

I have two Japanese Chins (these are dogs for those of you who are not familiar with them). They are similar in name only. Japanese Chins were originally bred in China and then brought to Japan to be companion dogs to the ladies in the Imperial Court as “sleeve dogs.” They were bred down to only two pounds so that the ladies of the court could carry them around in the sleeves of their kimonos.

My Chins are quite a bit larger than two pounds, as at most Chins today. Mine are both 14 lbs., so that is something else they have in common. Ernie, my older Chin , is compact, stocky, black and white, laid back, a real couch potato dog in keeping with the basic traits of Japanese Chins. Ralphy, a tan and white, or a sable Chin, is long and lean with long legs and is a holy terror. He is nearly two and is still going through his puppy stage. I don’t think he’ll ever outgrow it. He gets into everything. He’s still being housebroken, with some success and some not so much success. He stays in his crate at night while Ernie is allowed to sleep upstairs with me since he is a good boy. Ernie feels safe in his crate and goes into it willingly. Ralphy never heard that Chins are supposed to be laid back.

Chins have beautiful long ears and long silky tails. They tend to have an under bite. Ralphy’s is terrible. He looks like a reverse vampire. Ernie’s teeth are rather normal. He has dry eye, which is rather common in dogs with enlarged eyes such as Chins so he takes meds for that. Chins are not terribly bright, but Ralphy is pretty bright for a Chin. He is brighter than Ernie. Ernie is content not knowing anything.Ralphy gets into trouble because he has to know everything.

Japanese Chins are wonderful pets for people in apartments. They don’t require a lot of exercise; They are rather quiet and shy. They do bark but it comes out rather like “woo woo.” It’s a funny bark, but it’s a good bark for a watch dog. They are not vicious but friendly after their initial shyness. Ernie is more shy than Ralphy. They like other dogs and cats.

These two are my second and third Japanese Chins. They are both rescues, as was my first. They are the dog for me.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A-Z Challenge; J is for Japanese Chins

  1. Tilly Bud says:

    They are gorgeous. I know I keep saying it, but it’s true 🙂

  2. The Hook says:

    “J” is a great letter!

Leave a Reply

