Book and Film Challenge Update


I have two updates for today.

First, I watched the film Ides of March with George Clooney and Ryan Gosling. This film by George Clooney looks at a Democratic primary race for president and the corruption that occurs in this particular race. Ryan Gosling is a young staffer who soon finds out just how corrupt politics and politicians are and he himself becomes corrupted by the process. It was an appropriate film to watch during this primary election time and was a pretty predictable film but I enjoyed it. Three down, 22 to go.

Then I finished my thirteenth book in the book challenge. It was entitled How It All Began by Penelope Lively. It literally begins with how the story begins, a mugging of Charlotte which breaks Charlotte’s hip and forces Charlotte to go to live for a while with her daughter Rose and her husband Gerry. Rose works as a PA for Henry, Lord Peters, and can’t go on a speaking engagement with him, so his niece Marion, an interior designer goes along. She leaves a text for her lover Jeremy to tell him she can’t meet him, which his wife Stella finds, which initiates divorce proceedings for Jeremy and Stella. At the speaking engagement Marion meets an investment banker who is fixing up properties in London and hires her to do some interior design work for him. But he disappears in the middle of the project, leaving Marion stuck with the bills. In the meantime, Charlotte, who had been teaching reading class for adult students and could no longer do it because of her injury, decides to tutor one of her students, Anton, an Eastern European middle-aged accountant who has been working construction, at Rose’s hom. Rose gets involved with Anton in helping him select a present for his mother but it turns into more than that. Henry, Lord Peters, who had forgotten his notes for the speaking engagement which turned out to be a disaster, wants to redeem himself and turns to the BBC to see is he can make a series on the 18th century political scene in Britain. When that doesn’t work out, he acquires the young script writer as an archivist who uses Lord Peters as a resource for his thesis on the Scottish Enlightenment. It all comes together in the end with the characters in very different places then they were when they began the story. The title is clever and the story swings back and forth amongst the various plots and subplots. I enjoyed this light-hearted book. Thirteen down, 87 to go.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Books and Films Challenge Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book and Film Challenge Update

  1. The Hook says:

    You’re motorin’ now!

Leave a Reply

