My Identity


How do you define your identity?

I really don’t know how I define my identity. I guess it depends on a lot of things. I am a Muslim, a grandmother, a mother, a sister, a cousin, a tutor, a member of a senior community, a person who lives with depression, an introvert, a loner, an animal lover, a person who likes to read, person who cares deeply for other people especially for those who are hurting, an anxious person, a person who is afraid of making mistakes, a person who likes to write, a friend, a neighbor, caring person, a person who believes in God and the afterlife, and a person who believes in being the best person I can be here on this earth. These are the characteristics that define me and that define my identity.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in My Identity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Identity

  1. Very well expressed, and beautiful – as are you! I so much wish that the people who think that Muslims are Godless and every other imaginable ugly terrible thing could and would read this lovely statement on your identity. It’s a honor to read your words and to learn more about you. We have so much in common!

  2. judithhb says:

    Well done Marie. I should like to know you IRL. 🙂

Leave a Reply

