A-Z Challenge; P is for Patrick


A to Z Challenge; P is for Patrick

This was a tough decision for me today. It was either going to be “P is for Pancakes” or “P is for Patrick” and as you can see, my brother won out by a slim margin. I still like pancakes and have a lot to say on the subject but the issue today is my brother Patrick.

I have one brother, Patrick, who is the middle child in our family (I am the eldest). He has always been the golden child in the family even when he didn’t necessarily deserve it. Patrick was always my mother’s favorite because he is an extremely outgoing, extroverted, gregarious, people person. He always seems to have an entourage. (Think Jay-Z) He had a tough start immediately after high school when he contradicted an infection about three weeks into the semester in college and had to be hospitalized and then drop out of school. He was so sick that he was finally allowed to take one course at community college the next semester and then he stayed at home and finished school at the local college. It was not what he had hoped for, but he made the best of it. His degree was in urban planning rather than in environmental planning.

Then he moved to North Carolina and went to a college there to learn to be a saw filer and saw mill management. He moved to Georgia and worked in a saw mill where he nearly lost his thumb. He came home to New York after my father died to live with my mother and started an import business of American southwest and Mexican imports. He had a retail and wholesale store and did very well. Then he decided he wanted to have a tree farm. He bought land and planted different trees which he still has and runs.

He has about 40 acres of land with two barns and a house and the trees and now only has the wholesale import business. But now he has gone into quarrying Pennsylvania blue stone with a partner and is selling the stone from the farm. In the meantime he has invested in apartment buildings in the city where he lives as well. He is a true entrepreneur.

He has has girlfriends over the years and has been good to their children (not his) but he has never married. He is good to his nieces and nephews. He was good to my mother when she was alive and he lived with her in her declining years. He has had some brushes with the law but has come out okay.

He is basically a person who is interested in many things and is intensely curious about many things. He is very interested in fossils and gem stones. He is well read and enjoys people and helps those less fortunate than he is. I admire my brother for reasons that I can’t discuss because the situation is too complicated but suffice it to say that he loves young people and does much to help them.

He is very opinionated and can be rather overbearing. Despite all his faults, he is a decent person and I love him very much. I made a good decision to write about him instead of about pancakes. You should know about him. You probably know about pancakes.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

