A-Z Challenge; R is for Ralphy


A to Z Challenge; R is for Ralphy

Ralphy is my almost two year old Japanese Chin puppy. I say puppy because Japanese Chins take a long time to outgrown their puppyhood. He’s getting there. I don’t think he’ll ever be as laid back as Ernie, my older Chin. Ralphy is just a higher energy Chin.

Ralphy is able to get into anything and everything. Ralphy can open bags and evn open his crate from the outside if it isn;t latched tightly. I have a box of twist up crayons that are in a bag that is tied up; I don’t know how he does it, but he is able to get into that bag and take those crayons out of the box which is in the bag and play with them. It’s not that Ralphy lacks for toys. We have oodles of squakey toys in the house which only Rakphy plays with (Ernie ignores them completely). He also has appropriated other plush animals as his own such as dolphins and bears. If it’s fuzzy, it’s his.

Ralphy is still being house-trained. We’re almost there. (Please, God!) He’s good about everything except the poop in the evening. I can’t seem to catch him at the right time for that. He’s fine in the morning and he’s fine with wee-wee, but he still sleeps in his crate and I think we’ll leave it that way since he will get into trouble if left on his own. He loves to pull out my hijabs (headscarfs) that are folded in a bin and pull them through the house. He also loves to chew on my shoes. I have lost several pairs of high heeled shoes since the heels were wonderful chew toys. He also has plenty of chew toys but looks for extras. I have had to replace several phone cords and other electrical cords from Ralphy’s earlier days.

Chins often have underbites but Ralphy’s is quite pronounced. He looks like an upside-down vampire. It could make him ugly but I think it makes him cute. It also makes his chewing on your armor fingers a bit painful since his canines tend to be a bit sharp.

This little rescues guy (who was previously known as Trigger–he is no Trigger) is a sweet boy who fits in well with our family of Ernie and me. He’s more active than Ernie, but they play well together, often unplugging the printer or the computer (which annoys me to no end) but they have a good time playing and rolling around until they finally collapse or until Ernie has had enough and retreats to a hidey-hole. Ralphy does have his down moments when he’s content to watch out the window or chew on a chew toy or just nap in the sun. Our lives ar better for having Ralphy in them.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

