A-Z Challenge; V is for Valentine’s Day and I’m Sick of It


A to Z Challenge; V is for Valentine’s Day and I’m Sick of It

Is it just me or is this Valentine’s Day over the top or what? This is Rodeo season in San Antonio and the morning news show does part of its broadcast from the Rodeo (the animals are judged and “prettied up” in the mornings. You can get free biscuits and coffee like they used to make them in the old days early in the morning at the Rodeo.) But this year even the food arcade has red velvet funnel cakes and has chocolate-covered strawberries and cherries! At the Rodeo!

The broadcasters keep talking about Valentine’s Days and the Rodeo in the same breath (“You can get a Red Velvet Funnel Cake and then come over here and get a foot massage.”). It gets worse at nine o’clock when their Daytime at Nine Show comes on, when they go into all things Valentine’s. What about people who don’t celebrate Valentine’s Day, who have no significant other with whom to celebrate the holiday. Now they’re talking about flower deliveries. The staff is going on flower deliveries. (Going on the police warrant round-up would be more interesting.)

This Valentine’s frenzy has been going on for over a week. No wonder I came down with the flu. This would make anyone sick. They have had restaurants on showing their favorite romantic dishes. Even the KY romantic packages have been featured, which is going a bit overboard. Now they are talking about the jewelry you can buy for your sweetheart at the Rodeo. Don’t you think this is all a bit much? Valentine’s Day is a lovely holiday; I bought gifts for my granddaughters. But enough is enough. Stop already.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

