Someone I Love


Tell us about someone you love: your boyfriend, your husband, your girlfriend, your dog, your cat, etc.

I will tell you about my significant other, my dog Ernie. Ernie came to me about three years ago as an owner turned to the Japanese Chine Rescue Society. My first dog Spikey had been a rescued dog from JJCARE and had passed away about a month earlier from a heart problem after about three years of a hard battle against his failing heart which finally. So We flew Ernie down from Ohio to San Ohio to San Antonio to his forever home (mine) in March 2009. Ernie hit into our home immediately. He got along with my elderly cat (who has since passed away). He He was house trained and not picky about his food. He was a little shy and still is with people he doesn’t know too well but he is very loving with me. M follows me all around the apartment, mainly in an attempt to get away from Ralpjy, a younger rescue who has been with us about a year, who is much more puppy like and likes to play and tumble so there are times when Ernie just likes to escapes.

Ernie’s favorite spot is to lie on top of the sofe as I read my book of perhaps lie on my lap as I read. At night, he likes to snuggle in bed or sometimes snuggle in his own little bed on the floor. He’e very flexible as to where he hangs out. Ralphy stays in his crate so he knows he’s safe at night. When it’s time to get up, the alarm goes off, I get up to wash and brush my teeth and dress ans set my prayer time clock, and then read the Qur’an until it’s time for Fajr prayer. Ernie usually goes under the bed. When the Alarm goes off for Fajr, I say,”Ernie, time to say the prayer,” and he and I make our way to the hall at the top of the stairs. I go into my prayer room to prayer ans Ernie gores to lie down on the stairs to wait for me to finish my prayer so we can go downstairs and go outside.

I take Ralphy out first since he’s still puppyish and has been locked up all night, then it’s Ernie’s turn to go out. When Ernie comes in, they both get a treat and then I fill up their food dish and water bowel and they have breakfast. They play for awhile as I read my email and blog a little and our day begins. If I have to go out. Ernie gets a dog cookie and Ralphy gets one when he goes in his crate when I go out (the house would be torn apart if Ralphy was left out while I was away) but Ernie never gets into anything while I am out. He is a perfectly behaved gentleman. Is it any wonder that I an in love with this little guy?

He is the love of my life. He has dry eyes; many dogs with big bubbly eyes like Japanese Chins have this problem and he has to have medicine put into his eyes every day. He is so good about it. He never fights me about it. He just lets me do it. What a good guy.

Ernie is just the perfect little dog for me. He’s the someone I love.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Someone I Love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

