A-Z Challenge; W is for Waterfalls


A to Z Challenge; W is for Waterfalls

This is the second time I’ve written this post. I hope it turns out as good as the first one.

I have always loved waterfalls. They have had a special attraction for me. When I was in grammar school, I had a friend named Susan who had a waterfall in the stream that ran through the woods in the back of their property. The waterfall was about five feet high. You could climb up the rocks on the sides of the waterfall and then slide down the waterfall into a shallow pool at the bottom. We had great fun there in the summer sliding down that waterfall. Little did I know that in 4 or 5 years I would be living next door to one of the world’s most famous waterfalls.

I went to university at Niagara University in Niagara Falls, NY. The university had no dormitory facilities for women and Niagara Falls had no tourists in the winter so the university made arrangements for their female students to board at some of the hotels in the city. My freshman year I lived in the Red Coach Inn which was as close to the American Falla as one could get. It was a small English-style inn and 30 of us lived there. Every morning when we waited to catch the bus to go to campus (which was on the north side of the city) we were greeted by spray from the Falls. It was like it was raining every day. But it was a beautiful place. We were directly across from the park and it was a great place to have picnics and walks by the river before it went tumbling over the Falls.

We also lived very close to the International Bridge (10 cents to cross the bridge) to Canada and the views of the Americans Falls and the Horseshoe Falls from the Canadian side are spectacular. They are even more breathtaking at night. The Canadian side has such pretty gardens, too. So although we were university students we appreciated the beauty of the world around us.

Waterfalls have always been magical for me. I love the roar of the water as it tumbles over the rocks and crashes below.If you’ve never seen Niagara Falls, take a trip. It’s worth it. They are beautiful.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

