Book and Film Challenge Update


I’ve just finished my eighteenth book in my book challenge. I read Whoopi Goldberg’s book Is It Just Me?: Or is it nuts out there? In this book, Whoopi takes on the lack of civility in modern day society and does it very well. She doesn’t just come down hard on the lack of “please” and “thank you” although they are in there, but she takes on disrespectful soccer moms and dads, people who think nothing of invading a person’s personal space, inconsiderate drivers, people who use disrespectful language around others, and includes a compelling chapter on bullying. The chapter on bullying alone is worth the price of the book. Whoopi is aware of the “inappropriate” language in her shows but she makes the point that people choose to come to her shows and know what to expect. There is other language that is hurtful and harmful that people use everyday and that is not civil. “inappropriate language” should be censored by the person him or herself, especially around children. Adults need to watch what they do or say around children. Children learn the behaviors they see.

The level of civility in society has declined dramatically over the past few years and because we live so close together, we have to learn to change our behavior and become better neighbors to one another. Whoopi places a big emphasis on personal responsibility and choice and explains that part of the problem is that we have abdicated our responsibility. Whoopi’s book is serious but full of humor and her voice speaks loud and clear through this book. This is book that cries out for us to be civil human beings and respect the boundaries of others. It’s everyone’s responsibility to be civil to one another. Thanks for a great read, Whoopi. And when you give us one of your smiles on The View we’ll all be trying to figure out what you’re thinking but not saying. (Read the book to find out what that means.) Eighteen down, 82 to go.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Books and Films Challenge Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

