A-Z Challenge; X is for Xeriscape


A to Z Challenge; x is for Xeriscape

I live in south Texas. At the edge of a desert. At the edge of the Great Plains. Not on the Great Plains, just off the Great Plains. Just off the Coastal Plain. We are lucky if we get 13 inches of rainfall a year. And that’s now considered a good year. So why are we still insistent on planting grass and plants like roses that need gallons of water to survive? Why does everyone have lawns? Have these people never been to Phoenix?

People in Phoenix understand that you can’t live in the middle of a desert and expect to have lawns and also have enough drinking water. It’s impossible. So let’s decorate our houses with something different. Let’s use cacti. They grow well here. There are other plants that thrive in this climate Let’s embrace them.

My apartment complex fights the good fight using recycled water every week to water the lawns here. It’s a losing battle. Give it up. Xeriscape the place. Already we have large rocks stacked around the place. It’s a start. We don’t need pansies and snapdragons. Plant cacti and you’re set for the year. You’ve just cut down on the landscaping bill. Rocks and pebbles can look nice. It just takes a little getting used to.

In south Texas, xeriscaping is the way to live. We can’t afford people opening catfish farms and large golf courses. We have to live with the environment we have.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

