My Favourite Relative


Who is your favourite person in your extended family?

My favourite relative in my extended family is probably my Aunt Dorothy Mae. She is my mother’s second to youngest sister and her only remaining living sibling. I used to love to go to her house when we went to Virginia to visit in the summer because she had two sons, one of whom was my age and I got to go to school with him for a day. She was a good cook and has a jolly personality. She is interested in everyone of her nieces and nephews and cares a lot about all of us.

She has been through terrible trials in her life. Her eldest son, who was my age, died suddenly of a heart attack at age 42. Both he husband and younger son died of Huntingson’s disease. She cared for both of them. She has rheumatoid arthritis but it is well controlled, thank God. Her grandchildren are good to her and love her very much. She is the glue that holds together our maternal side of our family. All the cousins care very much for her because she is a good God fearing woman who loves us all. I love my Aunt Dot Mae and am so glad she is in my life.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in My Favourite Relative and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Favourite Relative

  1. judithhb says:

    Lovely tribute to your wonderful Aunt Dot Mae.

Leave a Reply

