After the Competition


My granddaughters had their Pep Squad dance competition yesterday, as I mentioned in Six Word Saturday. Their group, the Silver Belles, were in two performances: one at 9:18 a.m. and the other at 4:48 p.m. I obviously did not stay for the whole day. I have a life. The venue was not too far away, so I went over to the early performance and taped it for my daughter who was too tired to go (she had brought them over at 7 a.m.) and it was a good performance to Sweet Dreams Are Made of This by the Eurythmics. The choreography was very good. They did a very good job, I thought. Even the lady sitting next to me thought so.

I went with my daughter to the later performance. Just prior to their pom-pom performance, was another school that had the ugliest costumes that I have ever seen. They wore blue spaghetti-strap leotards with purple tutus and blue and purple patterned leggings. None of the girls looked attractive in them. They won the category, however. Figures. Our girls did very well except for one girl who hadn’t a clue what she was doing, and it was quite obvious she was lost. It was too bad. The others did quite well. I can’t remember the music they performed to. I think it was Ricky Martin’s Alé Alé Alé. The did a neat thing of passing pom-poms back from one line to another. The choreography was good, too.

I was proud of them. I didn’t get to see them, though. They had to stay back stage until the whole show was over until about 9 p.m. So I will send them a text today telling them how much I enjoyed their performances. They have another competition next weekend, my daughter told me. Oiy!

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Dance Comeptition and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to After the Competition

  1. The Hook says:

    Hang in there, Grandma!

Leave a Reply

