My Brother and Sister


Do you have any siblings? What are they like?

I have one younger brother and one younger sister. We are all very different in appearance and temperament.

My brother Pat is a very outgoing, gregarious person. He is loud and bossy and self-directed. He was my mother’s favorite because of his personality which was much like hers. He is always surrounded by an entourage. He is an entrepreneur. As a child, he frowned frequently in pictures. He has always been stocky and a bit overweight. Today he has diabetes and some health problems. He has a wholesale American southwest and Mexican import business, a tree farm, a Pennsylvanian blue stone quarry business, and owns several apartment buildings in the city where he lives. He has never married though he has had several girlfriends who have had children and he has been extremely good to those children. He is still concerned with two grandchildren of one of his grandchildren who lived with him for most of their growing up years and tries to remain in their lives. He is good to his nieces and nephews. He read a lot and researches quite a bit about the things he sells. He also is interested in fossils and gemstones. He can be a bit difficult but I’m glad he’s my brother.

My sister Joanne, the youngest, is divorced and raised her four children by herself for most of their lives. It was not easy for her. She has an associate’s degree in accounting and works in a medical lab accounting department. She too is outgoing and makes friends easily, something I don;t do. I am the introvert of the family. She was very close to my father and was his favorite. She frequently butted heads with my mother. She can be quite stubborn. She is the best grandmother I know. She has seven grandchildren: five of her own and two she inherited when her son married a woman with two children but she treats them all the same. She make costume for Halloween and babysits and drives 400 miles in a day to go to a birthday party (riding with her ex-husband, no less!). She loves to organize the office Christmas party and is a good friend and co-worker. She is a good sister and one of my best friends now that we’re older. We weren’t close growing up but have gotten closer as we have aged. I’m glad to have her as my sister.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Brother and Sister

  1. The Hook says:

    I’m sure your siblings admire you as well.

Leave a Reply

