Bibliophilia Tag


I got this from Mushy Cloud. It’s fun. Try it.

Bibliophilia Tag Questions:

1. Which book are you currently reading? And why did you choose that book?
I am currently reading Catherine the Great: Portrait of a Woman by Robert K. Massie. It’s quite a tome. I have always been interested in Catherine, the young German princess who came to rule the mighty Russian Empire, and this book is a comprehensive book about Catherine’s live and loves, as well as her policies and reforms in Russia in a very interesting, readable book.

2. Have you ever bought a book just for the cover? And if so which one?
I originally bought the book Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close for it’s cover of the hand with the writing of the cover title on it. It really intrigued me.

3. Which book-to-film/TV show transition did you think was done the best?
I thought the movie version of The Help was well done and and kept as true to the book as it possibly could.

4. If you are a writer, where does your inspiration come from?
I don’t write fiction. I write nonfiction and my inspiration comes from my own life and the happenings in my life.

5. Who do you think is the funniest or most villainous character Jane Austen ever created?
I think Whitby in Sense and Sensibility is a villainous character. He uses Marianne and leaves her desolate with no regrets and marries another.

6. Which author do you own the most books by?
I probably own the most books by Elizabeth Peters and Lindsey Davis, who have written the Amelia Peabody Emerson mysteries and Marco Didius Falco mysteries, respectively. I love these two series.

7. How many books do you own?
I own thousands of books. Many are harcover books and I know I own 500 ebooks.

8. Is there any one thing that you think could have been improved upon in one (or all) of Jane Austen’s books? What is it and why?
Sometimes Austen’s women are passive and take too long to getting around to saying what they have to say to the men in their lives, but that may be just the times in which Austen lived and the culture and mores she lived by.

9. What is your favourite genre of book?
I love mysteries and biographies, and books about language (the English language).

10. What is your favourite Jane Austen quote?
“They were able to love each other even as well as they intended.”– Pride and Prejudice

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Bibliophilia Tag and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bibliophilia Tag

Leave a Reply

