Where My Family Lives


Do you live close to your family?

Depends on what you mean by family. I live close to my daughter and her family, her daughters and her husband. They live only three miles from my apartment, which makes things very handy when Jackie, my granddaughter, forgets her jazz pants that she needs for Pep Squad practice at school and I’m the only one near enough to go to the house and bring them to school so she’ll have them in time for practice. We also get to spend holidays together and have brunch together occasionally and go to the movies and have dinner.

I don;t live close to the rest of my family. My brother and sister both live in upstate central New York and I live in south Texas. I do try to get back every year or two to visit. I have a cousin in the area and my father still has a cousin there as well. My extended family is all over the place. I have a number of cousins and aunts in Virginia. My mother was originally from Virginia. I also have cousins in New England and South Carolina and cousins scattered throughout the country in various states. Some I see when they go back to New York or Virginia. Others I haven’t seen in years. The Virginia cousins have talked about having a cousins’ reunion this spring. I hope we can pull it off. It would be nice to see my cousins again.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Where My Family Lives and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where My Family Lives

  1. Susan Okaty says:

    I wish we lived near to our children, but we’re in Virginia and they are in Boston and Michigan. Still, we are a lot closer to them now than we were when we lived in San Antonio. We live two hours from my brother and sister-in-law and their daughter and her husband. My husband’s family are in Connecticut and Florida.

Leave a Reply

