Happy and Unhappy Families


“All happy families resemble one another; unhappy families are unhappy families each in its own way.”

There is a lot of truth in this statement. Happy families are families in which each member respects the other members of the family. They care for one another and genuinely take into consideration each other’s welfare. They don’t deliberately hurt one another or demean each other, but build each other up. Their main characteristic is respect. The family is the most important thing in happy families; everything else is secondary.

Unhappy families have so many problems and unhappy families differ in so many different ways, but the members don’t respect each other. Alcohol or substance abuse may be involved. The adults may demean or disrespect one another or the children. The family may not be of the first priority in unhappy families; work or sports or friends or something else may be more important than the family. The members of the family don’t feel important to the other members of the family. Each family has something different wrong with it, but something is “off.” The family is not priority number one and the members of the family know it and go their own way and the family breaks down. Then there is a unhappy family. Counseling can help an unhappy family, but only if all the members of the family buy into the process. There is hope for unhappy families.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

