Book and Film Challenge Update


I have finished reading the 27th book in the challenge. It was Act Like a Lady, Thank Like a Man, written by the comedian Steve Harvey. Harvey is a stand-up comedian, one of the Kings of Comedy, and has a syndicated morning radio talk show. The premise of the book is that men and women are very different in their needs and approaches to love. He sayas that men need to profess their love, provide for the ones they love, and protect the ones they love. They also have certain basic needs: support, loyalty, and sex. If a woman understands these basic principals, and sticks to her basic principals of demanding respect from her partner, she is more likely to have a better relationship with a man. He has a 90-day rule: a woman shoud probably not sleep with a man for 90 days; it takes at least that long to really get to know him. He also has 5 basic questions a man needs to answer correctly in order for a woman to know if he is really serious about a relationship. He ends the book with some questions about relationships that his listeners to his radio show have sent in and he answers. It was a very interesting book, giving a male perspective but also giving advice to women to demand respect in a relationship. Twenty-seven down, 73 to go.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Books and Films Challenge Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

