Book and Film Challenge Update


I have finished Mansfield Park by Jane Austen, The thirtieth book in the book challenge. This was the first book that Jane Austen wrote in her career as a writer and it is less sophisticated than her other books. It is the story of Fanny Price, the poor relative of the Bertrams, who take her in at age 10 and give her an education and a home and all the advantages of the upper class of English society. Fanny, to me, seems a two dimensional character. She is aware of her status as the poor relation and is grateful of everything that is done for her and never expresses her opinion to the contrary of anyone else’s opinion. Her great confident and friend is her cousin Edmund. The others treat her as the poor relation, except for Sir Thomas, the head of the family. The book follows Fanny’s growing up years until she becomes 18, when her cousin Maria marries a man she does not love but really loves Henry Crawford, the brother of the parson’s wife. Fanny despise Henry who is arrogant and proud, but he sets out to show Fanny he has changed and is determined to marry Fanny. Fanny refuses him without explaining to anyone why she is refusing him and then goes back for a visit to her family home in Portsmouthe. The visit is for three month, far too long for Fanny, but in that space of time, Henry runs off with Maria, the married cousin, Julia elopes with the older son’s best friend, Edmund realizes that Henry’s sister is not the person he wants to marry, and by the time Fanny returns to Mansfield Park, her real home with her younger sister Susa, she realizes she loves Edmund who has become a clergyman and they marry and eventually reside in the parsonage at Mansfield Park and are a comfort to Sir Thomas and Lady Bertram. It is a very contrived plot and goes on far too long with lengthy subplots. Of all Austen’s books, I liked this the least. Thirty down, 70 to go.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Books and Films Challenge Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book and Film Challenge Update

  1. judithhb says:

    Mansfield is m y favourite Austen book. Thanks for sharing.

  2. I agree, it is certainly not JA’s best, however the movie of it is really terrific. It is a tad different from the book – more condensed – but very entertaining, and excellent performances. Check it out!

Leave a Reply

