Book and Film Challenge Update


The 32nd book I read was Moon Over Soho by Ben Aaronvitch, a fantasy mystery novel. It was a weird book. The premise was that there was a jazz vampire who was killing jazz musicians in London and had been killing them since World War II. Peter Grant, a Detective Inspector in a special magic unit of the Metropolitan Police and Thomas Nightengale, his boss and mentor, are in charge of investigating these murders. Complicating the investigating is the fact that Peter’s father is a jazz musician and has teamed up with the remaining members of the group of one of the deceased musician’s group. There are also various subplots about Peter’s apprenticeship as a wizard and a various other magical creatures who are terrorizing London that Peter is chasing through London. The book assumes you know a lot about these magical creatures but you soon catch up. It was a tolerable read. Thirty-two down, 68 to do.

I also saw my sixth film, A Thousand Words, starring Eddie Murphy as a literary agent who can’t shut up long enough to hear what other people are saying and it’s ruining his relationships with other people. He meets a guru and wants to publish the guru’s book when a tree magically appears in his lawn. Whenever he speaks the tree loses a leaf for each word and the tree is dying, When the tree loses all its leaves, Eddie will die, too. The answer is that Eddie must resolve his anger and his unresolved relationships and the tree finally flourishes. It was an entertaining movie. Six down, 19 to go.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Books and Films Challenge Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book and Film Challenge Update

  1. judithhb says:

    I don’t read fantasy. I have enough of that going on in my own life.

Leave a Reply

