Book and Film Challenge Update


Still Life: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel by Louise Penny is the 34th book I read for the challenge. Chief Inspector Armand Gamache of the Sûreté de Quebec and his team are called to investigate the death of an elderly woman in the small town of Three Pines near the USA border. She had been killed by a hunting arrow in the woods near her house. Was it an accident during hunting season or was it murder? Chief Inspector Gamache and his team must answer this question as they investigate among the bilingual people of this tiny village where everybody knows everybody and everybody loved Jane Neal, the victim and former school teacher and new artist who had just entered an art work in the Arts Williamsburg Art Show. Clara Murrow, Jane’s best friend and neighbor, is devastated and tries her best to help the Chief Inspector and his team. To add to Gamache’s woes, he has a new Agent who is arrogant and obnoxious and unwilling to follow directions, and try as he might to mentor her, she seems to be very dense and unable to see that she has a problem. With many twists and turns, Gamache manages to solve the mystery of Jane Neal’s death in a very exciting climax. Thirty-four down, 66 to go.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Books and Films Challenge Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book and Film Challenge Update

  1. The Hook says:

    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

