Book and Film Challenge Update


The 41th book that I read was the Lady Georgiana Rannoch mystery Royal Flush by Rhys Bowen. It is the hot August on 1932 in London and Lady Georgie is tired on sweltering in Rannoch House in London. But is several weeks before she is due to go to Balmoral Castle to go shooting with the Royal Family. Due to a mess-up on Lady Georgie’s part where she has gotten herself into a bit of trouble, the Home Office has asked her to go to Castle Rannoch to help her brother and his wife with their house guests as well as keep her eye on the members of the Royal Family. Their have been a number of accidents involving the members of the Royals and the Home Office wants Georgie to meet their agent and keep a watch out for any suspicious activity.

Georgie arrives at Castle Rannoch to find Her sister-in-law Fig in a tizzy. Her brother Blinky is laid up due to a freak accident and she has a house full of unwanted house guests sent by Their Majesties, including the Prince of Wales favorite American married woman Wallis Simpson and her husband, another American couple, an Austrian countess and her son, Georgie’s rejected suitor Prince Seigfried, and two rather primitive Rannoch cousins, all their for the grouse shooting. A series of accidents occur at Castle Rannoch and near accidents are occurring at Balmoral and Georgie must find out who is targeting and why they are targeting the Royal Family. She even goes so far as to bring her Grandad from London to stay in one of the cottages at Castle Rannoch to help her solve these mysteries. With a heavy cast of suspects, Lady Georgiana has her work cut out for her. Forty-one down, 59 to go.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Books and Films Challenge Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

