My Heritage


Renée from Teachers and Twitshas a guest blogger today who tells a little about her heritage and so I thought I would tell a bit about my unique Samson ancestors. My great-grandfather Bernard Samson came to this country from the tiny European Grand Duchy of Luxembourg in 1848 with his parents and five siblings. His farmer was a tenant farmer in a small town in Luxembourg, in the town of Gostingen in the Mosel Valley near Germany. The family spoke the local dialect of Luxembourgish and French, the national language. We have the passport of my great-great-grandfather Michel Samson which permitted him to bring his family of his wife and six children, as well as a rifle for their protection to America. Since Luxembourg is a land-locked country, they had to travel to Belgium and then travel by ship from Antwerp to New York City. From there, they traveled by train to upstate central New York State, to the base of the Adirondack Mountains to good farmland where they bought farmland and became farmers and learned the lingua franca of the area, German, and English. They had another child who was born in this country, and my great-grandfather married a Swiss immigrant woman. They went on to have eight children six who survived to adulthood, one of whom was my paternal grandfather. I am very proud of my heritage from the tiny Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, one of the smallest independent nations in Europe. Today most people know of it as the place they stopped for lunch when they went to Europe, but I know it as the land of my ancestors.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in My Heritage, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Heritage

  1. The Hook says:

    Thanks for the “look behind the curtain”, as it were!

Leave a Reply

