Book and Film Challenge Update


Book number 43 in this challenge was The Fleet Street Murders by Charles Finch. This Charles Lenox mystery finds Lenox to be a very busy man. Charles has been tapped to run for Parliament for the northern town of Stirrington upon the retirement of MP Stoke, but Stoke suddenly dies and a by-eection must be held within a fortnight. So Charles must ravel the long train trip to the north to campaign for the seat. But before he leaves, two prominent Fleet Street journalists are murder at approximately the same time on the same day, and of course, being an amateur detective, Charles is interested in solving the case. Luckily he has Darrington as his apprentice to help with the case while he is away, but no sooner does Charles begin his campaigning in Stirrington than he finds that he really must return to London for 36 hours, thus disrupting his campaign. This is a disaster. Telegrams a flying back and forth between London and stirrington as well as letters and Charles is at the point of exhaustion. And then the unthinkable happens. Inspector Exeter is killed! Will Charles be able to solve the murders? Will he finally be elected to Parliament? This is an extremely suspenful book. Forty-three down, 57 to go.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Books and Films Challenge Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

