Book and Film Challenge Update


The 45th book I finished reading for the challenge was The Cruelest Month by Louise Penny, a Chief Inspector Gamache mystery. It is Easter weekend in Three Pines and Gabri has arranged a séance for Good Friday evening at the bistro. But the psychic said that it didn’t work because there was too much positive energy in the bistro so another séance is arranged for Easter evening after dinner at Clara and Peter Morrow’s house at the old Hadley house. That should had sufficient evil in it for a séance. And indeed it does. After the psychic spreads salt for protection and lights candles at the compass points, the participants can hear sounds of the “dead” coming, and then suddenly Madeleine Favreau falls over dead. It appears she has been scared to death.

But upon further investigation, it seems that Madeleine was actually murdered; ephedra was introduction into her system and with her weak heart, it was sure to kill her. So Chief Inspector Gamache and the team are called in to find out who wanted Madeleine, whom everyone loved, dead. But Chief Inspector Gamache has more problems. The Arnot case, in which he was a whistle-blower in the Sûreté du Québec, seems to not be over. Someone in the Sûreté is planting false stories in the press about Gamache and his family in an effort to get him to resign. Who is doing this to him? He has two mysteries to solve in this cruel month of April. Forthy-five down, 55 to go.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Books and Films Challenge Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book and Film Challenge Update

  1. The Hook says:

    Another winning post!

  2. judithhb says:

    Thanks Marie/Fatima. I shall certainly see if they have this book at our library. When do you get time to read so many great books?

Leave a Reply

