Book and Film Challenge Update


Mirror, Mirror was the ninth film I saw for this challenge. It is the Snow White story (sort of) told from the wicked queen’s perspective. Julia Roberts plays the wicked queen and does a great job as the queen. Nathan Lane plays plays her prime minister and is hilarious as her lackey. The actress who plays Snow White (whose name I have forgotten) is beautiful, sweet and just the type of Snow White you want. This version takes liberties with the story. The seven dwarves are bandits and Snow White teams up with them to give back to the village people the gold that the queen taxes from the poor villagers. The prince is handsome but bumbling, and is a comic relief as he is put under a puppy love potion spell to marry the queen. But all ends well as we find the monster in the forest is also under the spell of the wicked queen and of course, the prince and Snow White end up together. And the way the apple is worked in is clever.

The tenth movie I saw for the challenge (it was a big day for movies yesterday) was The Muppet Movie. It was a typically delightfully Muppet movie with a clever plot involving a new Muppet who encourages the Muppets to get back together to save their theater from an evil oil man who wants to tear it down. The is romance of the human variety and song and dance numbers of the human variety as well. And then there is the chaos that was the original Muppet show from its time on television, which was nicely nostalgic. The movie was thoroughly enjoyable and of course there was Miss Piggy doing what she does best–being Miss Piggy. Ten down, fifteen to go.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Books and Films Challenge Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book and Film Challenge Update

  1. The Hook says:

    I heard “Mirror, Mirror” was TERRIBLE!
    But you can’t trust critics…

  2. judithhb says:

    Well I hope your grandchildren enjoyed Mirror Mirror as much as you did.

Leave a Reply

