Wednesday Hodgepodge


1. Have you ever played golf? Any interest in playing? Do you have a significant other who loves to play? Did you watch The Masters this past weekend?

Funny you should ask this, since my granddaughters and I were just discussing this on Saturday. No, I have never played golf and cannot understand how I could possibly hit that little ball that hard not only so far but also in the appropriate direction of the little hole. I have played miniature golf and I’m pretty awful at that. Since I have no significant other, no this nonexistant person also does not play golf. My brother plays and my aunt and uncle used to play.No, I didn’t watch the Masters. I have no interest.

2. Hats are back in fashion this spring…how do you feel about wearing a hat? (fyi-I’m not talking baseball caps) When was the last time you wore one?

I don’t wear hats as I wear Islamic hijab, which is not the same as wearing a hat. It is, however, wearing a head covering.

3. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 meaning proficient and 1 meaning “I’d starve“, how adept are you at using chopsticks?

On a scale of 1-10 on the chopsticks scale, I’d give myself an 8. I prefer chopsticks with Asian food.

4. Has technology taken over?

Depends. In evryday life, it has certainly taken over our lives. We can’t live without our phones, computers, ipods, ipads, indoor plumbing, etc. But technology has little to do with relationships except to get in the way, as when your significant other won’t turn the television off because you need to talk to him or her because the “big game” (it’s always the “big game”) on.

5. In the course of a day how often do you look in a mirror?

Usually only in the morning when I’m getting ready for the day .

6. Tulip or Daffodil?

Oh, tulips! I love tulips!

7. I am proud of myself for surviving my childhood and my two marriages and my one job from hell.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

My book is slowly taking shape. I have not a clue if I will be able to find a literary agent or if I will have to self-publish, but at least it is nearly done. I have the last chapters to finish and I’m putting them off and doing clean up now which is taking FOREVER. But I want it to look decent.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

