Book and Film Challenge Update


I have finished book number 50! It was Republican Gomorrah: Inside the Movement That Shattered the Party by Max Blumenthal. This a a book of stories about the religious right and their attempts to hijack the Republican Party and the fallen from grace of so many of the rising stars of the movement. Many of these rising stars were associated with the Doctor James Dobson and his Focus on the Family. Unfortunately, these rising stars were caught in gay relationships or relationship with young girls or extra-marital relationships, the antithesis of what Dobson preachers, which cast a doubt over the whole organization. These were people who, through Dobson, were able to obtain high position in the Republican Party and in the White House. Most of the scandals were hushed up and the “fallen” were sent away. But the scandals left their mark on the Republican Party and reduced the Dobson influence in the party. The book was like reading about a train wreck. And the Dobson organization did not want to cooperate with the author, even going so far as to ask, “Are you Jewish?” as if that would explain why he would want to tear them down when in reality, they were tearing themselves down by putting tremendously flawed people in high places who preached the opposite of what they did. Fifty down, and fifty to go.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Books and Films Challenge Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

