Book and Film Challenge Update


The 53rd book I read for the challenge was a bit out of order because I know the identity of the real killer from reading The Cruelest Month earlier. This book, The Brutal Telling: A Chief Inspector Gamache Mystery by Louise Penny, explains how the Hermit came to be found murdered and first found in Olivier’s bistro and then found he had been moved from the spa, and then again found that Olivier had moved the dead Hermit from his cabin in the woods to the spa. The gist of the story is that the body of an unknown man is found murdered in Olivier’s bistro. The Sûreté homicide team eventually discovers the cabin where the Hermit, as they call him, lived and it is filled with valuable antique treasures, particularly red cedar carvings that seem to tell a story of people fleeing from a mountain. The carvings, done by the Hermit, are exquisite. Gamache determines that the wood has come from the Queen Charlotte Islands in British Columbia and flies there to learn more about the wood and perhaps the Hermit himself. He learns that the Hermit must have spent time there and learned to build his cabin from the Haida people. The Sûreté determine that the Hermit was Czech; they also determine that Olivier was bringing the Hermit groceries in exchange for priceless antiques. Eventually Olivier is arrested for manslaughter, but this is not the end as we learn in a future book. Fifty-three down, 47 to go.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Books and Films Challenge Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book and Film Challenge Update

  1. The Hook says:

    You’re on a roll, young lady!
    Good job!

Leave a Reply

