Book and Film Challenge Update


The 56th book I read for the challenge was Infidel by Ayaan Hirsi Ali. This is her autobiography. She was born in Somalia and became a refugee, being raised in Saudi Arabia and Kenya mainly as a girl. She was born into a Muslim family but the Islam practiced in Somalia has some very brutal practices. For example, they practice female genital mutilation. They interpret the Qur’an as saying that women should be beaten, when the Qur’an says exactly the opposite. It is an odd form of Islam. However, Ayaan was brought up this way and lived with her mother and sister and brother as refugees (her father was a political man who was always on the run plus he had a number of wives). Life was hard for Ayaan who tried to be religious, but she was eventually married to a distant cousin from Canada and was to meet him in Canada by going through Germany. She decided she didn’t want to be married and sought asylum in the Netherlands. She changed her last name from her father’s name, Magan, to her grandfather’s, Ali, so it would be more difficult to find her. She told the Dutch authorities that she feared for her life if she were sent back and she was granted asylum. She became a Dutch-Somali translator and went to university. She eventually became a Dutch citizen and became involved in politics, as she had studied political science at university. She fought for civil rights for Muslim women whom she felt were oppressed. She came to believe that Islam oppressed people and held back people from democracy and from countries running efficiently. She received death threats from Muslims in the Netherlands and had to be constantly surrounded by bodyguards. Eventually she came to work at an American think tank for a while, but she thinks of herself now as Dutch. Fifty-six down, 46 to go.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Books and Films Challenge Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book and Film Challenge Update

Leave a Reply

