Book and Film Challenge Update


Book number 60 of this chalenge was another Alexander McCall Smith book (he is a very prolific writer) called 44 Scotland Street. This book is similar to the Corduroy Mansion series in that is follows the inhabitants of the flats of a particular building, in this case 44 Scotland Street in Edinburgh, Scotland and their friends and acquaintances and their lives and adventures. First we meet Pat, a 20 year old on her second gap year (yes, her second) who is the daughter of a psychiatrist in Edinburg but has moved into a flat in 44 Scotland Street with a flatmate called Bruce, who is quiet a handsome devil (and knows it). Pat has a job at an art gallery and a boss named Matthew whose father has backed him in a number of failed business ventures, and it seems the art gallery may be another of these. Bruce is a surveyor and quite the ladies’ man, but is getting a bit bored with the surveying business. Also in 44 Scotland Street live Domenica, a 61-year-old who has a variety of interests and a family consisting of Irene, Stuart, and their five-year-old son Bertie. Irene has made a project out of Bertie, teaching him Italian and the saxophone and teaching him to be responsible to the environment. But it seems Bertie is starting to rebel a bit, just wanting to be a normal little boy and has gotten himself suspended from nursery school and so is now seeing a therapist. Through her contact with Domenica, Pat has  met a portrait painter who lives around the corner, Angus Lordie and his dog Cyril, who play an important role in the story of Pat and the gallery. The book is good fun and there is always a surprise around the next chapter. The book was originally written as a serialization for The Scotsman newspaper so each chapter ends with one wanting to go on to the next to see the resolution of the dilemma that the current chapter has brought. Sixty down, 40 to go.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Books and Films Challenge Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book and Film Challenge Update

  1. sterlingsop says:

    I like the sound of this!!

  2. The Hook says:

    As always, cool share!

Leave a Reply

