Book and Film Challenge Update


I have finished book number 62, The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency, another Alexander McCall Smith novel. I have already read several books in this series, but this is the first book in the series and I was curious to find out how the series began. The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency is a detective agency run by Mma. Precious Ramotswe, a traditionally-built African woman in Botswana. It is the only detective agency run by a woman in Botswana. Mma Ramotswe used the proceeds from the cattle left to her by her father to buy a house in Gaborone and to start the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency. From an early age, Mma Ramotswe had a knack for solving puzzles and mysteries, so she decided that being a detective would be her business. She knew she was taking a risk, but you get nowhere without hard work and taking risks, so she rented a small building, had a sign made, bought two desks and three chairs, hired a secretary, bought a tiny white van, bought a book on The Art of Detection, and set up her business. Soon she had many clients who had cheating husbands or lost husbands, a doctor who competent one day and incompetent the next, a high school girl suspected of having a boyfriend, and many more cases. Her friend Mr. J.L.B. Matekoni helped her keep the tiny white van in tip-top shape, but also asked to marry her. Mma Ramotswe say, “No” because she had had a disastrous first marriage and was afraid to get married again. But eventually, she said “Yes” to her best friend. Sixty-two down, 38 to go.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Books and Films Challenge Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

