Book and Film Challenge Update


Book number 65 for the challenge was The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh. I read this book for a book discussion group that meets in a couple of weeks but I liked it so much that I read it in two days and had a difficult time putting it down. It is the story of a young woman who has been raised in the foster care system in San Francisco and has been emancipated. She finds a job in a florist’s shop because she has a gift for arranging and working with flowers, and then we learn, through a series of flashbacks, how she came to know so much about flowers. She was nearly adopted by a woman who ran a vineyard north of San Francisco but something went terribly wrong. (No spoiler alerts here.) In her contacts through the flower shop, she connects with the nephew of the woman she was nearly adopted by. They become lovers and she becomes pregnant and she leaves him and opens her own flower business based on the language of flowers. Each flower has a specific meaning and her customers understand that and that is why they come to her. In fact, she rejects clients who don’t get along or can’t agree on the qualities they want their flowers to say about them for their special day. Victoria, the heroine of the story, makes her own dictionary of the language of flowers by photographing flowers and making a file box of pictures of the flowers with their meanings. Having a baby changes everything for Victoria. It is a turning point in her life. You’ll have to read the book yourself to find out what happens. Sixty-five down, 35 to go.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Books and Films Challenge Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

