Book and Film Challenge Update


Book number 68 was The Red Blazer Girls:The Vanishing Violin by Michael D. Beil. This series is actually for adolescents but I enjoy it because it is an interactive book series where the reader works to figure out the clues (breaking codes) along with the characters). It’s a fun series.

Sophie, Margaret, Rebecca, and Leigh Ann are student at St. Veronica’s School on New York’s Upper East Side. They have already solved one mystery and think of themselves as detectives now. Margaret is the violinist of the group who studies violin with Sophie’s mother. She is receiving clues to find an old violin that was stolen back in 1959 from Carnegie Hall. The person from whom it was stolen is dead and there is no insurance claim on it, so the girls wait for the clues to try to find out where the violin is. The bow shows up in the violin shop next door to their school. A valuable violin also is in this shop for maintenance and suddenly is stolen from the shop. The girls also try to discover how this violin could have been stolen with all the alarms in the shop. Then the valuable bow is stolen from the shop. So the girls have several mysteries to solve. In the meantime, they have decided to put together a band to play at the coffee shop next door to the violin shop where they spend much of their time. Sophie discovers she has a talent for writing songs as well as for playing the guitar. On the night they debut their band at the coffee shop, Margaret has figured out how the violin and bow were stolen an d who stole them from the shop and exposes the culprit. Then they finally crack the code to learn where the other violin is located and find a great surprise. Sixty-eight down, 32 to go.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Books and Films Challenge Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

