Book and Film Challenge Update


The 70th book I read for the challenge was The Bellman Chronicles by Robert Hookey, also affectionately known to our fellow bloggers as The Hook. Yes, indeed, I opened wide y wallet and bought the book version of The Hook’s look at the world of his little slice of Heaven in the hospitality industry. As many of you know, The Hook is a bellman in a full-service hotel in a Canadian city which shall remain unnamed and he has tales to tell about the many guests who pass through his establishment. Some of the stories re taken from his blog You’ve been Hooked, which we all know and love. Some of the stories are good, some not so good, many extremely funny, some poignant, some sad. Some with a moral to them. Some that male you want to go home and hug your loved ones and make sure they know you appreciate them.  Others are so funny that you will role on the floor or make yourself sick laughing at the foibles of these fellow human beings. The Hook has them all in this boook. He has also included some of his other blog, The Book of Terrible, where he comments on those things he finds terrible in this world (and he didn’t mention the Kardashians!).

The Hook has done a fine job on this his first book, and I’m sure he has a few more in him. He tells us a little more about his home life with his wife and his daughter, both of whom he’d willingly give his life for. I really enjoyed The Bellman Chronicles. Heck, I read it in two days. Go buy a copy and support The Hook in his literary effort and have yourself a good read. Seventy down, 30 to go.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Books and Films Challenge Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book and Film Challenge Update

  1. judithhb says:

    Thanks Marie – now another blog to read and follow. 🙂

  2. I have been absent for some time, but now I remember
    why I used to love this website. Thanks , I will try and check back more often.

    How frequently you update your web site?

  3. Virgie says:

    My husband and i felt absolutely glad that John managed to do
    his web research out of the precious recommendations he was given from your web site.
    It is now and again perplexing to just happen to be handing out
    solutions which many people might have been trying to sell.

    And now we consider we have got the writer to be grateful to for that.
    The most important illustrations you’ve made, the simple website menu, the friendships your site give support to instill – it’s everything sensational, and it is making our son in addition to
    us do think that matter is thrilling, and that is unbelievably important.
    Many thanks for all!

Leave a Reply

