Book and Film Challenge Update


The 72nd book I read for the challenge was One for the Money by Janet Evanovich. This is her first Stephanie Plum mystery novel. In this introductory book, Stephanie has lost her job at the department store and out of desperation, has taken a job with her cousin Vinnie as an apprehension agent in his bail bond company. That’s right. She has become a bounty hunter, with no experience. She takes on a case that will net her a $10,000 reward–a police officer, her high school friend Joe Morelli has Failed To Appear (FTA) on a $100,000 bond after shooting a man who was supposedly unarmed. Stephanie somehow knows that Morelli couldn’t have shot an unarmed man and investigates the situation further. She keeps running into Morelli but can’t seem to “capture” him. She does commandeer his car since her car has been repossessed and her $500 dollar is not running too well.

Stephanie, in the course of her investigations, runs up against a boxer named Benito Ramirez, a real psychopath who has a thing against woman and who beats her up and then keeps threatening her. Morelli and Stephanie team up to find the real culprits in the killing of the man Morelli killed who was armed and was in the apartment of an informant, and try to keep Stephanie safe from Ramirez. Stephanie still wants to turn Morelli in and collect her $10,000 but she knows he’s innocent. What to do? She needs the money but wants to help Morelli.

This is an action-packed booked and Stephanie is a likable character. Evanovich scores a hit with Stephanie Plum. Seventy-two down, 28 to go.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Books and Films Challenge Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

