Six Word Saturday


It’s Ramadan, the time for fasting.

Ramadan began yesterday and this is the month for fasting for Muslims. That means no eating, drinking, sex, or smoking from dawn (when the first light appears in the sky) to sunset. It’s a long time–about 15 hours.

I was watching television yesterday, the first day of Ramadan and I realized how many commercials on television are about food. LOTS of them. Almost 2/3 have food of some sort in them, even if they are not selling food. Even the car commercials have cook-outs in them! It was really torture!. I did well; I wasn’t too hungry. I was thirty. I do have to take meds have way through the day and they are dissolved in a little water but they in no way satisfy my desire for water.

It’s awfully hot here in San Antonio just now so I  went out quite early this morning and yesterday morning to do errands before the heat go to be too extreme. But I did take the dogs out last night at about 7 p.m. and it was still about 98degrees F, and believe me, I could have used a nice cool glass of water when I came back in. But that was not to be until 8:45 p.m. when I swilled down two glasses of water and a couple of dates before a light dinner. I also manage to get two full glasses in first thing in the morning (4;30 a.m.) with my breakfast and then I feel quite full. After dinner I drink another couple glasses of water and so I keep quite hydrated. Also I stay in as much as possible. But next week I have a number of home visits to make for my CASA kids and I just hope I’ll hold up well through that. One is an hour out of town. I’m dreading that one.

Ramadan is quite a challenge to stay healthy and fast at the same time. I tried to explain the purpose of fasting (focus on God, awareness of those who have no food, sacrifice, etc.) to my daughter last week but she was adamant that it wasn’t healthy and was a stupid “control” idea. Nothing I said could change her mind. I think that it can be done in a healthy way and in a spiritual way. So I have a month too get used to it.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Six Word Saturday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

