Book and Film Challenge Update


Book number 75 for this challenge was Tears of the Giraffe by Alexander McCall Smith. This is a No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency novel featuring Mma Ramotswe. In this book, Mma Ramotswe and Mr. J.l.B. Matekoni are engaged and buy an engagement ring. Mr. J.L.B. Matekoni is talked into taking two orphans from the Orphan Home by Mma Potokwane, a girl and a boy, a sister and brother, the girl in a wheelchair from complications of tuberculosis. He is worried about whatMma Ramotswe will say when she discovers he has adopted these two children but Mma Ramotswe is fine with his decision and happy to have two such wonderful children in her home.

The biggestest case for the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency in this book is a ten years old mysterious disappearance of an American boy from a communal farm near Francistown. His mother has come from America to Mma Ramotswe asking her to look into the disappearance; she knows he is dead but she would like to know how he died and put him to rest. So Mma Ramotswe investigates this old mysterious death for the American mother. There are several other small cases, and Mma Makutski is promoted to assistant detective because she shows her detective skills. But she is still the secretary, too.

Mma Ramotswe solves the ten year old mystery and brings closure to the case and Mma Matuski solves her own case. The children are happy living in Mma Ramotswe’s home and soon Mma Ramotswe and Mr. J.L.B. Matekoni will be married. Seventy-five down, 25 to go.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Books and Films Challenge Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

