Book and Film Challenge Update


The 78th book I read for the challenge was The Red Blazer Girls: The Mistaken Masterpiece by Michael D. Beil. The girls from St. Veronica’s are busy again. This time they meet one of their movie star idols who asks Sophie to watch his dog Tillie for him while he is in London which presents a whole set of challenges for Sophie. Then Livvy accidentally smacks Sophie in the nose during swimming practice and breaks Sophie’s nose. And Sophie begins to receive mysterious gifts delivered to her at home and at school. This is a mystery for her to solve.

But the big mystery is to solve is the mystery of a painting that belonged to Father Julian’s parents. They believe it was painted by Pommeroy but must prove it was painted before he was killed in an accident in late 1961. Father Julian gives the girls a box of old photos to go through and see if they can find clues to see if they can find some way to prove the painting is genuine. What they discover is that there are actually TWO paintings–the original and a copy. Father Julian has the copy. They know who has the other, presumably the original–Father Julian’s aunt. Now they have to get the original back from his aunt. But they discover another twist to the plot of the paintings. So many mysteries to solve! Seventy-eight down, 22 to go.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Books and Films Challenge Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

