Book and Film Challenge Update


The 84th book I read was Brownies and Broomsticks by Bailey Cates. In the fantasy, Katie Lightfoot has moved from Akron, Ohio after a breakup with her fiancé to Savannah, Georgia to open a bakery with her Aunt Lucy and Uncle Ben, called the Honeybee. She has bought her own little house and plans to stay and make a living in this new town. But she discovers from her Aunt Lucy that she is a witch, that both her mother and father were witches (but they never told her) and that three of Aunt Lucy’s good friends are also witches. They teach her about spells and her powers.

Meanwhile, Katie and her relatives and working to get the bakery up and running. Prior to the grand opening, Mavis Thompson, a mover and shaker on Savannah, arranges to hold the Downtown Business Association’s meeting in the bakery. When she won’t pay the bill, Uncle Ben has words with her. A few minutes later, Marvis is found dead in her car with her neck broken and a man with Uncle Ben’s description was seen near the car.

Katie sets out to prove her uncle innocent and while doing so meets a male journalist who is also a witch and a firefighter who used to work with her uncle, whom she particularly likes. These two men have a history and truly hate each other, more so because each like Katie.

Katie learns more about her powers and opens the bakery to a huge success and manages to snare the real killer. Eighty-four down, 16 to go.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Books and Films Challenge Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

