Book and Film Challenge Update


The book I just finished reading, number 88, Wicked Business by Janet Evanovich, is a Lizzy and Diesel mystery. Lizzy and Diesel both have magical powers. Lizzy can detect energy in objects. Diesel can break into buildings and disarm alarm systems–sometimes. His evil cousin Wulf has the ability to appear and disappear at will, and then there is his minion Hatchett, who dresses in Renaissance clothing, carries a large sword. and speaks Shakespearean English. Did I mention they all live around Salem, MA?

Diesel and Wulf are in competition for the magical stones that are associated with the seven deadly sins. In this book, they are after the Luxuria stone, associated with lust, but also associated with true love. A nineteeth century poet left clues to the whereabouts of the stone and both Diesel and Wulf are on a hunt to find it, although they didn’t figure on another magical personage, Anarchy, also known as Deirdre Early, who is also after the stone and is obsessed with fire.

Diesel and Lizzy, with their trusty friends Glo and Clara from the bakery where Lizzy works and Carl, Diesel’s monkey, all hunt down the clues to the stone. Glo seems to be able to cast spells and also sees clues nobody else can see. Hatchett turns up at the darnedest times and places and is quite annoying, so Glo uses her spells on him but he also hurts Glo at one point, inciting Lizzy’s wrath.

This is a wickedly good mystery novel. Eighty-eight down, 37 to go.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Books and Films Challenge Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

