Book and Film Challenge Update


I finished book number 89, which was Alexander McCall Smith’s The Right Attitude to Rain, an Isabel Dalhousie novel. Isabel’s mother’s cousin Mimi and her husband have come to spend three weeks with her in Edinbugh from Dallas. Isabel is quite fond of Mimi and begins to talk to Mimi about her mother who died when Isabel was quite young. They talk about secrets that parents have from their children and after some pressing from Isabel, Mimi tells Isabel that Isabel’s mother had an affair with a younger man who then left her when her mother became ill with breast cancer. Isabel thinks that she is similar to her mother since she is in love with Jamie who is 14 years younger than she.

Mimi and her husband are invited to a house party in the country by two friends from Dallas and Isabel and Jamie are also invited. Tom, their Dallas friend, is afflicted with Bell’s palsey and is engaged to Angie, a younger woman who seems to be not so happy and quite taken with Jamie. While at the houseparty, Isabel and Jamie, who have adjoining rooms, sleep together for the first time as their romance grows.

Isabel also goes to look at a flat she wants to buy for Grace, her housekeeper, with Jamie. They decide the flat is good for Grace and so make arrangements to purchase it for Grace.

Upon Mimi’s return to the States, she writes to Isabel that Tom has broken off his engagement with Angie. Then there was a fire deliberately set in Tom’s Tyler home and the door was locked with a key so he could not get out but he was rescued. Isabel tells Mimi to tell Tom to make sure his will and financial arrangement are changed and that Angie knows this, since Isabel suspects Angie had a hand in the fire.

At the end of the book, Isabel and Jamie have a quiet dinner together and Isabel has a surprise for Jamie. Eighty-nine down, 36 to.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Books and Films Challenge Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

