Book and Film Challenge Update


Book Number 93 was At the Villa of Reduced Circumstances by Alexander McCall Smith, volume 3 of the Professor Dr. von Ingelfeld Entertainments. This novel finds von Ingelfeld doing more traveling to foreign countries than previous novels. Since visiting Zimmerman at Cambridge while Zimmerman was there as a visiting Fellow, he had dreamed of going there himself. On his birthday, May 1, at coffee with his colleagues, he was asked what he wished for. He said he wished to be a visiting Fellow at Cambridge and it was arranged.

At Cambridge, von Ingelfeld found that the English are very strange indeed. There seemed to be various factions among the Fellows of the College. Some were involved in plots. He found that he had to share a bathroom with another Fellow. The plotting Fellows tried to pull him into their plots. The Master cried often. It was all very strange to von Ingelfeld and he worried that Unterholtzer had taken over his office. That bother him quite a bit. He was glad to return home to the Institute and normal life.

Upon his return, the Librarian had news. The Colombian cultural attaché had requested a copy of Portuguese Irregular Verbs and a biography of von Ingelfeld as The Academy of Letters wished to confer the award of Corresponding Fellow of Letters on von Ingelfeld. A few weeks later, the official letter came making such an offer and inviting him to Bogotá  to receive the award. Señor Cinco Fermentaciones, the cultural attaché, would accompany him to Colombia. He received his award but was warned that Colombia was a dangerous country and not to wander. The next day he was taken to visit the country villa of Dolores Quinta Barranquilla at the Villa of Reduced Circumstances where she conducted a salon for literary visitors. There they are suddenly overtaken by a group of guerillas led by Pedro, the leader of Moviemento Vientitres. They make friends with him and there is a showdown with the Colombian Army. To tell you more would be to ruim the end of the story for you, so I shan’t. Ninety-three down, 32 to go.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Books and Films Challenge Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

