Book and Film Challenge Update


Book number 98 was The Alchemist by Paulo Coehlo. I read this book several years ago but re-read it for a book discussion group. It is one of my favorite books. It is the story of a shepherd boy in Andalusia in Spain who has a dream of finding his treasure at the Pyramids and meets a old man, the king of Salem to whom he sells ten of his sheep, in turn for two omen stones to guide him, Urim and Thummin, to help him seek his Personal Legend. He sells the rest of his sheep and travels across the straits to Africa to Tangiers, to try to make his way to the Pyramids. There he meets with a thief who steals his money, but he is not discouraged. He goes to work for a crystal merchant and earns back the money he needs and the crystal merchant also does very well in his business with his new partner.

The boy eventually sets out with a caravan to the Pyramids. He makes friends with an Englishman who is seeking the alchemist who can turn any metal into gold. The boy is intrigued but he is only concerned with finding his Personal Legend, his treasure. There are tribal wars ongoing in the desert and the caravan is tense, but they eventually get to the oasis where there is safety. There the boy meets Fatima, the love of his life. He promises to come back to her after he finds his Personal Legend. She understand him as well as he understands himself. He has a vision that one of the the warring tribes are about to attack the oasis. The chieftains decide to believe him and disaster is averted.

In the desert. he meets the alchemist, who takes him under his wing and sees something special in the boy. He teaches him the signs of the desert and they are taken prisoner by one of the warring tribes. He encourages the boy to follow his Personal Legend and leads him to the Pyramids where he has a vision about his Personal Legend and his treasure.

To tell you the end of the story would be to give away the spectacular end of the story. And it is a spectacular story. Ninety-eight down, 27 to go.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Books and Films Challenge Update and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

