Thursday Hodgepodge


Welcome to the 93rd edition of the Wednesday Hodgepodge…so glad you joined the party today!  Hop over to Joyce’s blog and add your link at the end of her post and be sure to visit some of the neighbours.  Here are my answers~

 

1.  ARE YOU READY FOR SOME FOOTBALL? The NFL is back in action along with all the college teams.  Are you a fan?  Who do you root for?  If you’re not a fan what do you do while the rest of America watches Saturday, Sunday, Monday night, and now Thursday night games?

My team is the NY Giants, who lost (the fools) to the Dallas Cowboys on opening day last Wednesday night in the middle of the Democratic National Convention. Why they played on Wednesday night I’ll never know and certainly when something so important was on. I don’t keep track of college teams too much, except living in San Antonio there is a great rivalry between the University of Texas and Texas A & M that can’t be ignored. I have to go with the Aggies since they did so much to help my dog Spike when he was sick. High school football is big here and of course I root for the Holmes Huskies, where my darling granddaughters are members of the Pep Squad, the Silverbelles.

2.  What’s something I’ll always find in your closet?

Jeans and kurtis and abayas.

3.  Share one of your earliest memories.

My ealiest memory is of having congunctivitis (pink eye) when my sister was born. My brother and i were staying with my aunt and uncle and cousins and all us children had it. I remember sitting on the counter and my aunt bathing my eyes with solution to loosen the crusts on my eyes and crying because it was cold and wet.

4.  What circus act best describes your week so far?

The clowns. The parents of my foster children have been feeding absolute rubbish into the oldest child’s head and the foster mother has had to deal with it. These people are clowns.

5.  What’s a food you disliked as a child that you love now?

I didn’t like broccoli as a child but I like it now.

6.  Describe your summer in three words.

Very, very quiet.

7.  Where were you on September 11, 2001?  Will you do anything special to mark the day?

I was on sick leave from work and at home. The television was on and we watched as the drama unfolded. My daughter called and wanted to pick up her daughters from preschool but the school asked the parents to leave the children at school as normal and try to make things as normal as possible for 4 year olds as possible. That night I went to a memorial service at church since my son-in-law’s aunt and a good friend’s sister were in the Towers. I marked the anniversary by prayer.

 

8.  Insert your own random thought here. 

I’m knitting a little sweater for my almost born niece (due Oct. 12) and it’s coming along nicely. I have the front pieces done and most of the back. I just have the sleeves left and the ties and putting it together. I just may have it done by the time she’s born. I’m also making blankets.

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thursday Hodgepodge

  1. Jim says:

    I don’t have anything dark to write. I quess I’m too busy.

Leave a Reply

