Six Word Saturday


Today is Autumn, well, sort of.

Today is the first day of Autumn. Hooray! And here in south Texas is actually feels like it is not summer anymore. That does not mean, however, that it feels like Autumn. For the past couple of days we have had days in the high 80s and nights in the high 60s and it feels wonderful. But it doesn’t feel like Autumn to me.

Autumn, because I’m from the Northeast, means days in the 50s and 60s and nights in the 40s and sometimes the 30s with frost. It means leaves turning colors and falling from the trees. It means apple cider and apple cider donuts and pumpkins. We do get pumpkins trucked in from somewhere but they are nothing like Northeastern pumpkins. I really miss the cider and donuts. There was a country store where we used to go outside of Albany, NY, where you could buy cider and donuts and muffins and chrysanthymums  and other fall flowers. It was a wonderful place and we would drive across the Hudson River on Sundays and buy our “fix” of cider and donuts and flowers. That is Autumn to me.

Autumn here is cooler weather–still warm–but not baking, and football. Thursday night was the big rivalry between my granddaughters’ school and their district school. It was televised (football is big in Texas) so I watched it and got to see my granddaughters on the Pep Squad. On Wednesday, their Pep Rally was televised on the morning news (yes, it’s true and the other school’s was televised on Thursday) and I got to see them then, too. That’s Autumn in Texas. Warm weather and some rain and football. It’s a big difference from the Northeast. I’ve lived here nearly 20 years and I still have trouble adjusting to the Autumnal seasonal change. I don’t think I’ll ever really get used to it. But I’ll learn to live with it.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Six Word Saturday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Six Word Saturday

  1. The Hook says:

    Autumn rules! Great work!

Leave a Reply

